Wednesday, December 5, 2007

The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) is the primary investigative arm of the United States Department of Justice (DOJ), serving as both a federal criminal investigative body and a domestic intelligence agency. At present, the FBI has investigative jurisdiction over violations of more than 200 categories of federal crimes, making the FBI the de-facto lead law enforcement agency of the United States government. The motto of the bureau is "Fidelity, Bravery, Integrity".
In fiscal year 2006, the FBI's total budget was approximately $8.7 billion, including $495 million in program increases to enhance counter-terrorism, counterintelligence, cyber crime, information technology, security, forensics, training, and criminal programs.
Established in 1908 as the Bureau of Investigation (BOI), the FBI did not receive its current name until 1935.
Headquartered in Washington, D.C., the FBI also has 56 field offices located in major cities throughout the United States, 400+ resident agencies in smaller cities and towns across the nation, and more than 50 international offices called "Legal Attaches" in U.S. embassies worldwide.

FBI Academy
FBI Laboratory
Criminal Justice Information Services
Behavioral Analysis Unit (BAU)
Critical Incident Response Group (CIRG)
Counterterrorism Division (CTD)
Law Enforcement Bulletin Unit (LEBU)
Hostage Rescue Team (HRT)
Joint Terrorism Task Force (JTTF)
National Security Branch (NSB)
List of FBI Directors
List of FBI Field Offices
Notable operations